Woman Who Changed the Rochester Tattoo World

Posted by Jeremiah Macartney

You can’t talk about the Rochester tattoo scene and not mention Angelina Pelano. A woman who many would say helped to turn the way tattoo work was veiwed from something looked down on, to that of an art form. Not to mention that she was the first woman tattoo artist in the area to begin with.

Growing up in Rochester, it was always said to me if I wanted a great tattoo that I needed to go see her. Unfortunately by the time I got my butt ready to go, an accident had already caused her to retire. I am not the only potential customer that missed that privilege. That doesn’t mean that her influence and ideals have not lived on in the areas tattoo shops anyway. Tattooing from the late 70’s till her retirement about 14 years ago, there are countless artists that have been trained, tattooed or received advice from her. Notable local shop owners like Jet (Love Hate), TeeJay (White Tiger), Peg (Lady Luck) and Evan Conklin (Traditional Tattoo in Avon) are just a few of those that had the opportunity to be part of that group.

I recently came across a short write-up from Subcultue magazine in 2012 where she was interviewed about her time tattooing and her thoughts about the industry today. I hope that you enjoy the information as much as I have. To link to the article just click here.

artist-row-2014

Just because she has retired, doesn’t mean that she has been able to escape the love of art that often is the driving force behind any great tattoo artist. Recently she was at the Rochester Public Market for the 10th Annual Artist Row juried art show. Joining some of the best artists in the area. This year the show welcomed more than 10000 attendees and 180 local artists.

 

I would like to finish by using a quote that Angelina gave to Subculture in the Q&A section of the write-up. I feel it is a telling factor as to why she was so good at what she did and so influential to everyone else.
“Tattooing is a sacred thing. People give you their body and trust you to draw on them. You’re cutting into someone’s essence. Every tattoo I did I treated it like it was my masterpiece.” – Angelina Pelano

3 thoughts on “Woman Who Changed the Rochester Tattoo World

  1. I was lucky enough to get a beautiful piece from her, still one of my favorites. I’ve also always had mad respect for her. At the time she opened her shop here, my Grandfather “JJ Callahan” was still one of very few artist in the area. And being he was the first, it was my understanding she took the time to go meet with him, to let him know she was setting up here and talk shop….RESPECT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I probably wouldn’t have even started tattooing if it wasn’t for Ange. 20 years in the business, and I owe it all to her. She is a woman with a heart of gold, and I will always be grateful. My mentor, my friend. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment